Make your own…Tater Tots

9 Jun

Yep, still on my “potato kick” but I thought making my own tots was so cool I will share with you :)

We had baked potatoes as a side dish last night. Two of my children split one potato because they were so big, that left an extra potato So, I decided to make tater tots!  I totally let a baked potato cool and shredded it with a grater:

Did I mention, this was ONE potato?  Anyway, I sprinkled a heaping tablespoon of cornstartch over the pile, some onion powder, seasoned salt, and black pepper,then mixed it up with my hands. (I suppose you could use flour instead of the cornstartch but I haven’t tried it as we don’t use much flour) Also, at this point if you want to make them taste like store bought, you can add msg and sugar here ;) I then got a tablespoon and measured out balls, much like you would for cookies only a little smaller. This is what I got:

I placed this baking pan in the freezer for one hour. Then, I fried some and I baked some:

Sorry, didnt get a pic of the ones baking…too hot! :) This was the final product…Well minus the ones that the kids snuck off with before I could snap a photo :)

To fry: place COLD tots in grease (I used canola oil) thats been allowed to get to 350-375 degrees. Fry until golden brown.

To bake: Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Spray cold tots with oil heavily (if you skip this step your tots will not ever get golden brown) bake until golden brown ~took mine about 15-17 min.

To freeze: Dunk the cold tots into hot oil for 1-3 minutes then place on cookie sheet. Place in freezer for one hour. Remove from cookie sheet into plastic bag or container, pulling out what you need and continue with either the bake or fry instructions

Tater tots were invented from the frozen french fry industry having too much “waste” So they figured out a way to make “tater tots” from the already processed frozen french fry, processed it some more and made tater tots. My family used to go through several bags of them a month until I started reading labels and staying in the outter perimeters of the grocery store, then we switched to homemade hashbrowns on top of our tater tot casserole.

These are fun to make, we have added things like cheese, jalepeno, and bacon to ours but they are kind-of a pain in the neck and they disappear in 1/4 of the time than it took to make them! When I do make them, I usually make them into ball shapes rather than the original tot shape. My son has named them “tot balls” and begs for them often :)  

Feel free to add your comments and as always, Be encouraged in your kitchen :)

With love, Mrs. Sunnyside

2 Responses to “Make your own…Tater Tots”

  1. kat August 1, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

    OMG!! You are amazing! Thanks so much for posting this! I love tater tots and always wondered how to make my own lol. Thanks for sharing! I’m new to blogging here and I just love how supportive and creative everyone is! If you have time, could you please check out my blog? http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/ I would love some advice and feedback :)

    • mrssunnyside September 21, 2011 at 6:55 am #

      Thank you for your kind words!! I checked you out and I LOVE pumpkin pie spice!! :) Looks great~keep up the great blogging! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

